Work it Out

Philippians 2:12 Therefore, my beloved, as you have always obeyed, so now, not only as in my presence but much more in my absence, work out your own salvation with fear and trembling, for it is God who works in you, both to will and to work for his good pleasure. 

In a nutshell, the second law of thermodynamics tells us that all things are moving from order to chaos; all processes have a tendency towards decay and disintegration. As I think on this idea I don’t have to look far to find examples of things moving towards disintegration. A quick glance at the worn carpet beneath my feet gives heed to this scientific law. The chipped paint on our v
an, the stack of junk in the garage, and my inability to jog a mile all affirm this principle. Common cliches such as “Use it or lose it” also come to mind.

This is not only true for our physical worlpush-ups-888024_1280d, but also
in our spiritual walk. When I neglect to exercise, my muscles weaken. When we neglect our spiritual walk,
putting Bible study, prayer, and fellowship on the back burner, our spiritual muscle weakens and we find ourselves rapidly approaching chaos.

A.W. Tozer in his book, From the Grave, puts it this way: The neglected heart will soon be a heart overrun with worldly thoughts. The neglected life will soon become a moral chaos.

We must take heed and do as John 15:4-5 tells us: Abide in me, and I in you. As the branch cannot bear fruit by itself, unless it abides in the vine, neither can you, unless you abide in me. I am the vine; you are the branches. Whoever abides in me and I in him, he it is that bears much fruit, for apart from me you can do nothing. 

Spend some time abiding in Christ today. Work out your salvation with fear and trembling. Neglect not your heart lest it become overrun with worldliness.

Leave a Reply

