Abiding

  John 15:5 – 6

  I am the vine; you are the branches. If a man remains in me and I in him, he will bear much       fruit; apart from me you can do nothing. If anyone does not remain in me, he is like a branch that is thrown away and withers; such branches are picked up, thrown into the fire and burned.

Are you remaining in Christ? Are you abiding in him daily? As he moves, are you moving with him? Does the fruit you bear give evidence to life in Christ?

John 15:10

If you obey my commands, you will remain in my love. Just as I have obeyed my Father’s commands and remain in his love.

Are you walking in obedience or are you living a life of compromise? Do you sit in church on Sunday yet disobey his word on Monday? Or are you seeking him with your whole heart on a daily basis and striving to live in obedience to what he asks of you? What does your Bible look like? If you died and your family came across it, would it bear witness of pages read?

John 15:12
My command is this: Love each other as I have loved you.

Do you love your Christian brothers and sisters the way that Christ has loved you? He sacrificed everything, including his blood for you. Do you show sacrificial love to others?

I ask these questions, not just of you my friends, but of myself as well. Although I love Christ and I am endeavoring to serve him, I have much work left to do. May his word and his love permeate every fiber of my being and yours. Let’s join together to be the salt of the earth, bearing fruit that shows we are Christ’s disciples.

 

 

Leave a Reply

