Ordinary to Extraordinary

In January 1942, C.S. Forester walked into the British Embassy and introduced himself to a young man. The man, fresh from the Royal Air Force, had recently traded his wings for a desk. Mr. Forester invited the young man to lunch. As a writer for The Saturday Evening Post, he wanted to interview the pilot about his experiences in war-torn air.

As they sat over a lunch of roast duck with potatoes and gravy Mr. Forester wrestled between taking notes and cutting his meat. Sensing things weren’t going well, the young man suggested that he write down what happened and send it to the author who would rewrite it, making it suitable for publication. Mr. Forester agreed and they parted ways.

That evening the young pilot wrote about an event from the war and the next day, sent it to Mr. Forester. Two weeks later, he received a reply along with a $900 check. It seems that the young pilot was a writer at heart. His story so moved Mr. Forester that he sent it, unedited, to The Saturday Evening Post who published it. And the post wanted more.

This seemingly ordinary event, being interviewed about his war experiences, literally changed the direction of the pilot’s life. You may know him as Roald Dahl, the author of such famous books as James and the Giant Peach, Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, and Matilda.

Sometimes ordinary events lead to the extraordinary. In the book of Esther, God used the ordinary to save the entire Jewish race. Haman, the king of Persia’s right hand man, became irritated when Mordecai the Jew did not bow to him. This irritation grew to hatred which brewed into a plot to annihilate the Jews. Unbeknownst to Haman, this included the queen. Haman’s heinous plan required supernatural intervention.

So, God moved. And it started with a very ordinary event. The king couldn’t sleep. I’ll leave the story for you to read on your own. As you do, consider what might have happened had the king fallen into peaceful slumber.

It gives me pause. What ordinary event in my life today might set off an extraordinary move of God? I doubt King Xerxes knew that one sleepless night would lead to an event so historically significant, an entire nation would celebrate it annually. This indicates that God cares about the smallest of events in our lives and can utilize any given moment for his purposes. So as you put your shoes on and head out the door today, keep your eyes wide open. God might have an extraordinary surprise hidden in the ordinary steps of your day.

3 thoughts on “Ordinary to Extraordinary

  1. In July 2012 I watched my mother to succumb to Stage four lung cancer, and Leukemia. I was shattered and broken and comforted by an elder in our District. I began to write to her about my days with my mother. After my mother’s passing we received a phone call around 5:30 a.m. and this special friend said to my husband, “your wife needs to write books. I’ve tossed and turned all night, and the LORD has a word for your wife.” I was asleep, so my husband told her that he would tell me what she said. When I checked my mail, she had poured out her heart to me. The LORD wants you to write books. She told me, “the title will come first, than the story. God wants you to use your journals to help others.” One week after telling me this, she discovered her three year old grandson had a malignant tumor on his tailbone, which extended to her navel. They would begin agressive chemo therapy immediately. I comforted my friend. I prayed for her, and our church prayed for their family. Then while at work, the title came to me, and I knew she had heard from God. Then today, I opened your blog. I believe this message was for me, sent by God, to encourage me. Thank you for your blogs. I enjoy them so much. For His Kingdom, and For His glory. Kari

    • Kari –
      I am glad that God used what I wrote to speak to your heart. That’s amazing! I encourage you to start that book.
      Lisha

Leave a Reply

