Laughter and Weeping

Job 8:12 He will fill your mouth with laughter and your lips with shouts of joy.

What makes you laugh? My daughters bring a lot of laughter to our house. Like the time Kendall added the following to our weekly menu Chiken or Phamin’ Yaun (translation fillet mignon). Or the time my God-daughter was over while were going through Kendall’s closet. She’s a smaller size than Kendall and often a beneficiary of hand-me-downs. We discovered that the frilly pink Easter dress no longer fit Kendall, but she wasn’t sure that she was really ready to give it up. I told her that she should think about it, and perhaps even pray about it and ask God what he would have her do. Jaden said, “If I were God, I would tell her,” then her voice deepened, “Give it to Jaden.” And I can’t help but recall the time I was making BLT’s and Annalise was helping. I told her I was just having a BL because I don’t like tomatoes. She looked at her bacon and mayo sandwich and said, “I’m having a BM.” Kids can really bring a chuckle.

Let’s move on to the polar opposite of laughter; weeping.  In Luke 23:28, as Jesus was being led to his crucifixion he said, “Daughters of Jerusalem, do not weep for me; weep for yourselves and for your children.” What makes you weep? I tear up so easily it’s almost embarrassing sometimes. What gets me are words of thanks from a parent of one of my students, memories of my brother’s death, stories of the hardships of others or of ones who’ve overcome great odds to do something momentous.

As you think on the things that make you laugh and make you cry, consider this anonymous quote that I recently heard at church. Two indications of a person’s character are what makes him laugh and what makes him weep.

Leave a Reply

