Craving God

In going through Lysa TerKeurst’s study, Made to Crave, I have been deeply challenged. Lysa says that we were made to crave, but the object of our craving was designed to be God himself. Satan takes a good thing, craving, and twists it around to craving food, sex, drugs, fame, power, self-importance, and so on. This is a new concept to me, that God made me to crave him.

David expressed this craving in Psalm 84:1-2. How lovely is your dwelling, O Lord Almighty! My soul yearns, even faints, for the courts of the Lord; my heart and my flesh cry out for the living God.

And again in Psalm 42:1-2. As the deer pants for streams of water, so my soul pants for you, O God. My soul thirsts for God, for the living God. When can I go and meet God?

David got it! His soul craved relationship with God. We know that David was far from perfect with times of moral failure. He even got this craving thing mixed up when he lusted after Bathsheba. But at some point, he understood and he craved God.

I remember my mom sharing about a video she had seen where the speaker looked into the camera and with passion said, “You’ve got to want it.” I think this is what she was getting at, craving a relationship with God. Where are we in this? Are we passively living our lives knowing God is there in the wings, or are we yearning after him? Do we want it? If we truly do then we must give it more than lip service and get on our knees in prayer, seeking after him. I believe that when we seek after God, he will be faithful to meet us there. James 4:8a Come near to God and he will come near to you.

One thought on “Craving God

Leave a Reply

