Drawn or Driven

My mom and I have been doing a Bible study on the book of Ruth. It’s been a great study and one I highly recommend. In the study, Kelly Minter shares a thought from one of her friends that has stuck with me for the past week. She said, “When it comes to my spiritual life, I feel more drawn than driven.” I was so impacted by this statement, that I underlined it and wrote, “Wow!” in the margin and the question, “Do you feel drawn or driven?”

When I think of driven, I see a whip. It forces an animal to move whether it wants to or not. It forces a slave to dig deeper, pull harder, work faster. It is not an instrument of love, but of brute force and often an instrument of hate. Contrast that with drawn. When I think of this word, I see an outstretched hand inviting one, “Come along with me.” The hand longs to hold another and walk alongside them. The journey not to be forced upon you as a slave driver does with his whip, but rather shared hand-in-hand with a friend.

As I’ve mulled this question over in my head, a few scriptures have come to mind. Jeremiah 31:3 says, I have loved you with an everlasting love; I have drawn you with loving-kindness. Hosea 11:4, I led (drew) them with cords of human kindness, with ties of love; I lifted the yoke from their neck and bent down to feed them. And Matthew 23:37b when Jesus said, “how often I have longed to gather your children together, as a hen gathers her chicks under her wings, but you were not willing.” Can you hear the cry of his heart?  Can you see the mother hen gathering her chicks under her wings to protect them from the oncoming storm, the coldness of the night, or predators? That’s what God longs to do for us. He doesn’t want to drive us to him; he wants to draw us with loving-kindness. The question we have to ask ourselves is, we will allow our hearts to be drawn to him?

2 thoughts on “Drawn or Driven

  1. Beautiful!

    As I read and study the Gospels and consume the words of Jesus, I feel drawn to Him more and more. Even now, I am reminded of Matthew 11. As Jesus yearns for me to come, take, and follow, my heart longs to pursue, chase, and capture.

    Not only do I want to extend my hand to His outstretched hand, but I also want to give my heart (fully) into His keeping.

Leave a Reply

