Bucket List

Have you ever seen the movie, The Bucket List? It has a lot of profanity in it so I’m not endorsing it, but the story line was interesting. It was about two guys, both suffering from cancer, who made a list of things they wanted to do before they “kicked the bucket.”

 I was recently visiting with my mom and she shared about a women’s conference she attended. They spoke about setting goals and working toward them. One of the ladies in a breakout session suggested that they all make their own bucket lists and work towards them. Mom told me that she is considering making her own bucket list, but instead of putting down things she would like to do, her list is going to contain things to never do again. For example, never get your hair cut on a whim. Think it through and have a plan. I chuckled at that one.

It’s got me to thinking though. What things would I put on my never-do-again bucket list? Here are some ideas I’ve come up with:

1. Never eat another dried banana chip.

2. When there’s even the slightest bit of doubt that something doesn’t quite fit right, or look good, then don’t buy it, because it probably doesn’t.

3. Don’t take a Vicodin if you can’t remember whether you’ve already taken one that morning or not. It’s better to live through the pain than suffer the side effects of a double dose.

4. Don’t engage in a major purchase without thinking about it for at least 24 hours.

I’m not sure what else I would put on that list, but I’ll keep thinking. But, what about a to-do bucket list? What would I put on there? Here are a few thoughts:

1. Get a book published.

2. Go to Sea World and actually pet the dolphins this time.

3. Go Whale Watching.

4. Go to the women’s gymnastics finals at the Olympics.

5. Go to the women’s figure skating finals at the Olympics.

 6. Take my daughters to Disney Land.

7. Get a Master’s Degree in writing.

8. Actually wear size 10 jeans again.

9. Visit Venice, Italy.

10. Go to Hawaii.

But, what’s really important here? What really matters? I think what matters more than my personal bucket list is what God would write on a bucket list for me. What is His plan for my life? Might it include some of my dreams? I don’t know the answer to that question because God hasn’t shown me a list, but I see it getting worked out little by little one small step at a time. I don’t think God gives us His list for us all at once. We have to trust him and wait. He’ll show us the next item on the list when the time is right. And maybe, some of the things from our handwritten lists will be on His as well.

 Psalm 37:4 Take delight in the Lord, and he will give you the desires of your heart.

4 thoughts on “Bucket List

  1. This was a great post! What a wonderful thought to consider – God’s bucket list for me. I will be reflecting on this one for a while. Thank you.
    Also, I love your fresh, new blog categories. I’ve enjoyed following. I am always looking for good books and movies with a positive message. It helps to have another person’s insights and recommendations.
    Smiles,
    Kim

    Oh yeah, I could so relate to both of your bucket lists. 🙂

  2. Ahh… Lisha, I haven’t visited your blog in a while but everytime I do I LOVE reading it! Your bucket list is wonderful. I haven’t seen this movie either but heard about it. You shouldn’t have any problem getting a book published. You and Ron were blessed with amazing writing skills 🙂 Hope you have a great Thanksgiving!

  3. Isn’t God awesome in the way He works. I was looking for a picture of a bucket for my son’s homework and was led to your bucket photo, and then your post. I like your list of bucket don’ts and your comments. Keep writing. Your recent posts topics look quite funny and interesting. Good luck and many blessings.

Leave a Reply

