Wednesday Devotional – July 21

2 Chronicles 4-6:11

We’ve read of Solomon’s temple building in I Kings so this section of scripture is a recap for us. What I gleaned from this passage of scripture is a reminder that God keeps his word. He promised David that one of his sons would build the temple, and at the end of this section Solomon affirms, “…just at the Lord promised.”

There are many promises in God’s word, and we can count on all of them. He tells us that he will never leave us or forsake us (Deuteronomy 31:6, 8 and Joshua 1:5). We can count on him to be there. In 1995 my husband suffered from kidney failure. Even before we knew what was happening with his body, God’s presence was with us in a very real way. I remember sitting at the piano playing Christmas carols and being overcome with emotion. I told my husband, “I don’t know what it is, but I can sense that there’s something significant about this Christmas. I can feel God’s presence with us.” Little did I know what lay ahead for us, but God was there. He was faithful to carry us and make his presence known. During the darkest times, his presence was so strong that it was almost tangible.

He promises to provide for our needs (Matthew 6:25-34). I can fill a book with the stories of times that God has provided over and over again for me or my family in some way. Just recently I was struggling to find something to wear. I prayed, “God I really need some shirts that fit.” It was a brief prayer at the moment, and then I went about my day. Just yesterday a friend gave me a bag of t-shirts that her sister no longer wanted. They are in great shape and they all fit! I have seen God’s provision like this over and over again.

These are just two promises in God’s word that I have seen fulfilled in my own life. There are many others as well. We can look at God’s promise to David and see that it was kept. And, we can look at his promises to us, and know that we know that we know, those promises will be kept. Lean on God’s word today and cling to his promises for your life.

Romans 7:1-13

This is one of those passages that I read and say, “Huh? I need to read that again.” Paul talks about the law and it can sure get confusing, but stick with it and the Holy Spirit will clear up the muddied waters. I think what Paul is telling us it that the law was necessary because it shows us our need for a savior. Without the law, we wouldn’t know how far short we actually fall. The law condemns, but for the Christian, it has lost its condemning power because we are united with Christ. He fulfilled the law for us, and through his righteousness we are saved. Now that’s something worth shouting about! If you’re not convinced, go back to the book of Leviticus and read the law. As I’ve worked on reading through the Bible cover to cover, I had to grit my teeth and discipline myself to stick with it through Leviticus. If just reading it is difficult, then imagine trying to live up to each and every letter of it. I say, “No thanks.” I’d rather run to the arms of Christ and accept his gift of salvation because I know that I will fail miserably trying to live up to the demands of the law. 

Psalm 17

David gives us a great example of how to respond to our enemies. Instead of belittling them, trying to get revenge, or fighting them with an eye-for-eye mentality, he turned to God. He cried out to God for justice and rescue. We too can follow his example when enemies come at us. Our response should be to turn to God in prayer and allow him to work on our behalf.

Leave a Reply

