Prayer

I came across a couple of scriptures during my personal devotions earlier this week that I’ve been pondering and decided to share here. 

 Romans 8:26-27 (NIV)  

In the same way, the Spirit helps us in our weakness. We do not know what we ought to pray for, but the Spirit himself intercedes for us with groans that words cannot express. And he who searches our hearts knows the mind of the Spirit, because the Spirit intercedes for the saints in accordance with God’s will.

Hebrews 7:25 (NIV)

Therefore he is able to save completely those who come to God through him, because he always lives to intercede for them.

There are a few thoughts that I have in regard to these verses. One, the Holy Spirit intercedes for us! When we don’t know what to pray, He steps up to the plate and does the job. I don’t know about you, but there are many times when I don’t know what to pray for myself or for others. That’s when I can ask the Holy Spirit to do the interceding. The cool thing about His prayers is that they are always in accordance with God’s will, and prayers that are in accordance with His will, get answered.

 I also like the phrase, “who searches our hearts.” Do you realize what this means? Almighty God, the maker of all things, searches your heart and my heart. He knows our hurts, our fears, our desires, and our dreams. And with that information in mind, the Spirit prays for us. Wow!

So the next time you don’t know how to pray, just ask the Spirit to take over!

3 thoughts on “Prayer

  1. Lisha, my prayers have simplified all the way down to this, “Lord, you know.” I can ramble on and on with all my requests but God/Holy Spirit know exactly what I or a particular situation needs. So that’s what I do. I think of a particular person or situation that I’m concerned about or want to go to God with and just offer that simple prayer. I love the verse you referred to. The Holy Spirit is always in our corner with our best interests in mind. WOW!

  2. I have found you Lisha! I do believe what you have written. I have had some fabulous friends….each fabulous for their very own reasons, come back into my life! I love it…..it was what I needed! Thank you Lisha!

Leave a Reply

