Dream Fulfilled – Step One

This morning I plopped down at the computer to do a quick check of the FaithWriters site to see how my latest entry placed. Not expecting much, I clicked on the Intermediate Level Entries and saw that I had placed 1st at that level. “Wow!” I shouted. “I got 1st place at my level!”

I then clicked on the Editor’s Choice Awards. There was my title, Editing Rights. It’s 10th overall and will be published in the next Stories from FaithWriters book. I burst into tears and uncontrollable laughter all at the same time. I think I cried and rejoiced for over an hour. All the way to the teacher training I shouted, “Thank you Jesus! Praise you Jesus!” I was totally overcome with emotion.

I’m still floating on cloud nine, and not sure when I’ll come floating down. I am most moved by God’s miracles in my life. God has taken the ashes in my life and turned them into beauty, and that’s utterly amazing and inspires awe in my heart. I won’t be posting the story here because I am giving the publishing rights to FaithWriters. You can read it at the  following link:

http://www.faithwriters.com/wc-article-editors-previous.php?id=35714

My prayer is that this story will encourage others, point them to God, and give them a new view of the pains in their past. It is to His glory and only by His grace that I am able to write. He gave me the gift so I give all praise to Him and am humbled that He would use me in this way. 

For many years my dream of writing was just that; a dream that sat on a shelf, but then God began to open doors for me to write so I walked through them. Having a short story published is an exciting milestone for me. It’s the first stepping stone toward a long-term goal.  I now will be writing at the advanced level in the FaithWriter challenges. So what’s step two for me?  It’s to move up to the Master’s Level which means getting two more Editor’s Choice Awards. Ultimately,  I hope to attend a book signing someday and be the one doing the signing.

7 thoughts on “Dream Fulfilled – Step One

  1. Praise the Lord! It’s about time they awarded you the 1st you sooooo deserve! I am SOOOO happy for you! 🙂 Hugs!

  2. I just read your story. I can see why it was chosen to be in their next book. Very, very good. Kudos to you.

    Now, when are you going to write that childrens story that I get to illustrate?

  3. Lisha,
    I am SOOOO happy for you. Like I told you before, I loved your story. I really appreciated your honesty…..and I really appreciate YOU! Thank you for being such an open vessel that God is obviously working through and blessing many of us through.

  4. Oh Lisha, I’m so happy for you! What an incredible article! I was moved and touched by it. You are so gifted in writing, and I’m looking forward to reading many more pieces from you. 🙂

  5. What an INCREDIBLE story… and what a great lesson. I am saving this one and saving it for “those times” in my life. What an awesome testimony to God’s ultimate love and guidance in our lives!

Leave a Reply

