Another Writing Opportunity

At church yesterday a member of our pastoral staff approached me. He shook my hand in greeting and asked how I was doing. I gave him a quick answer and then he turned to go, but suddenly paused and turned back toward me. “I hear you’re a good writer,” he said. “Would you like to write one day a week for the church?”

I didn’t even hesitate. “Yes! I would.” I said. “What do you have in mind?”

He went on to explain that there’s a group of people signed up to read through the Bible in a year. He has been writing devotionals 7 days a week to go with each day’s readings. He said it’s too much for him so he’s recruiting others to help out. He’ll email the scriptures and assign a day to me. My job will be to read through them, study them, pray about it, and then write a 400-600 word devotional to go with that day’s scripture.

I am excited about this assignment for a few reasons. First, it will hold me accountable for digging into the word. I’ll have to do more than just read it. I need to go deeper so this will help me spiritually. Secondly, God can use me and the talents he’s given me to carry out his purpose. How cool is that? This process will also challenge me and help me grow as a writer, and I think it’s something that I will enjoy.

I am so thankful that God has chosen to use me in this way. I am a bit nervous because I’ve never written devotionals, but I think it will be a good growth experience.

One thought on “Another Writing Opportunity

Leave a Reply

